OpenAI · Shipped
gpt-image-2.5-sunburst release date
Released
Sep 8, 2026
What we know
Image generation model with improved instruction-following across multiple turns and better subject preservation in reference photos. Two variants released: gpt-image-2.5-sunburst (editing precision) and gpt-image-2.5-flare (fast generation).
Spec
- Params
- Not stated
- Active
- Not stated
- Context
- Not stated
- Weights
- Closed
- Modality
- Not stated
- Codename
- Not stated
Every claim
1 from 1 source- Simon WillisonSpotted in the wildSep 8
OpenAI released gpt-image-2.5-sunburst, an image generation model available via API with improved instruction-following and reference photo preservation.