Anthropic · Shipped
Claude Opus 5 release date
Specs, benchmarks and changelog are on the Claude Opus 5 model card at TPS.
Released
Jun 9, 2026
What we know
Step change improvement for the Opus tier powering long-running agents with improvements in coding and professional work.
Spec
- Params
- Not stated
- Active
- Not stated
- Context
- Not stated
- Weights
- Closed
- Modality
- text, vision, code
- Codename
- Not stated
Every claim
10 from 6 sources- Simon WillisonRepostOct 13
Anthropic's public release-date chart, relayed by Simon Willison, marks Opus 5 as released on Jul 24, 2026.
- The Verge AIPressSep 18
Claude Opus 5 was used by security researchers in a successful hack of OpenAI employee accounts.
- TechmemeSpotted in the wildSep 18
A cybersecurity-specialized version of Opus 5 was used by security researchers in an OpenAI bug bounty program.
- The DecoderSpotted in the wildSep 4
Claude Opus 5 has been evaluated for hidden prompt injection vulnerability at 4.8 percent failure rate.
- TechmemeSpotted in the wildSep 4
Claude Opus 5 scored 67 on Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index, tied with GPT-6 Astra.
- TechmemeSpotted in the wildSep 3
Claude Opus 5 scores 30.2% on ARC-AGI-3 benchmark.
- TechmemePressSep 1
Perplexity's Hybrid Compute feature uses Opus 5 as a frontier cloud model option for Mac users.
- Anthropic NewsFrom the labSep 1
Anthropic introduced Claude Opus 5, a step change improvement for the Opus tier enabling long-running agents.
- OpenRouter catalogSpotted in the wildJul 24
Claude Opus 5 is available for routing on OpenRouter with 1M token context window.
- OpenRouter catalogSpotted in the wildJul 24
Claude Opus 5 is available on OpenRouter as a routable batch endpoint, confirming its release.